DUI Penalties Are Serious in Ohio
Police in Ohio refer to drunk driving as operating a vehicle under the influence (OVI). In some cases, individuals arrested for OVI may be able to plead to a less serious “wet reckless” offense instead. Whether you are facing your first OVI conviction or your third, you should consult with a skilled attorney. In Ohio, the penalties for driving under the influence are serious:
- First offense — For your first offense you face a minimum of three days in jail and maximum of six months or a driver intervention program for three days. Your license is suspended from three to six months and you face between $250 and $1,000 in fines.
- Second offense — Second-time offenders face at least 10 days in jail and 18 days to six months of electronic home monitoring. The fine increases to $350 to $1,500 and your license may be suspended for between one and five years.
- Third offense — If you receive a third OVI conviction, you may be sent to jail for 30 days to one year. In addition, you face a license suspension of one to 10 years and up to $1,500 in fines. The law also requires that you attend a mandatory alcohol treatment program.
To reinstate your license in Ohio, you must pay $450. However, depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be able to prevent the loss of your license in the first place. With the help of a skilled DUI defense lawyer, you may be able to have the charge against you dismissed.