Penalties for Domestic Violence in Ohio
Domestic violence occurs when a spouse, family member or household member uses threats or physical or mental abuse to create an environment of fear and intimidation.
Here are the maximum penalties for domestic violence for threatening to use physical force against a family or household member:
- First offense — Fourth-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days in jail and a $250 fine
- Second offense — Second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 60 days and a $500 fine
- Third or subsequent offense — Can be a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by six months and a $1,000 fine, or a third-degree felony, punishable by five years and a $1,000 fine
Here are the maximum penalties for domestic violence based on an actual act of physical violence or attempted physical violence:
- First offense — First-degree misdemeanor, punishable by six months and a $1,000 fine
- Second offense — Fifth-degree felony, punishable by 12 months and a $2,500 fine
- Third offense — Third-degree felony, punishable by five years and a $10,000 fine
If you have been charged with domestic violence, contact an Ohio criminal defense lawyer immediately.