Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Ohio
Ohio is not among the states, such as Colorado and Washington, that have decriminalized marijuana possession. Nor is Ohio one of the 21 jurisdictions that have legalized medical marijuana. In Ohio, it’s still against the law to possess even a trace amount of marijuana.
- Less than 100 grams — Minor misdemeanor, $150 fine
- 100 grams to 200 grams — Fourth-degree misdemeanor, 30 days in jail and $250 fine
- 201 grams to 999 grams — Fifth-degree felony, one year in jail and $2,500 fine
- 1,000 grams to 19,999 grams — Third-degree felony, five years in jail and $10,000 fine
- 20,000 grams or more — Second-degree felony, mandatory minimum of five years and maximum of eight years in jail, and $15,000 fine
Facing marijuana possession charges? Contact an Ohio criminal defense attorney to discuss your case.